The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a special meeting on Tuesday, April 7, 1998 at 7:00 P.M. in the Board Room of the Watauga County Courthouse.


PRESENT: James Coffey, Chairman

Jack D. Lawrence, Sr., Vice-Chairman

Linda S. Craig, Commissioner

Jimmy Hodges, Commissioner

Jack Wellborn, Commissioner

Stacy C. Eggers, Jr., County Attorney

James S. Ratchford, County Manager

Libby Link, Clerk to the Board


Chairman Coffey called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M. welcoming those in attendance.


Chairman Coffey declared a public hearing open to hear the North Carolina Department of Transportation’s proposed Secondary Road Improvement Program for FY 98/99. He then turned the meeting over to Sam Erby, Board of Transportation member for Division 11.


Mr. Erby welcomed those in attendance noting that the purpose for the public hearing was to solicit input. He then introduced Wade Hoke, N.C. Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Division 11 Engineer with the Wilkesboro Office.


Mr. Hoke introduced the NCDOT staff who were present: Johnny Brown, County Maintenance Engineer and Jim Mixon, Road Maintenance Supervisor.


He then explained the formula for the paving of unpaved secondary roads and improvements on unpaved roads. Watauga County was estimated to receive a total allocation of $4,174,686 for FY 98/99. Of this amount, $3,075,000 would be used for rural road paving, $500,000 for subdivision/residential paving, $471,468 for maintenance/stabilization and $128,218 held in reserve for road additions, surveys, right of way signatures, overdrafts, and entrances to fire departments and rescue squads.


Mr. Hoke stated the priority lists for FY 98/99 were the exact same lists as last year and there were no changes. He noted that the three roads that had been previously on the list for paving had been removed because of inability to obtain right of way and other roads had been moved up.


The following concerned citizens spoke: Bill Harmon, Jimmy Billings Road (Vilas community); John Edmisten and ten other residents, Rush Branch Road; Sybil Edmisten commended NCDOT for trimming; Henry Yates and Dorothy Yates commending NCDOT for road paving project.


After discussion regarding a way to change the priority system, review of point system, etc., Mr. Hoke requested the Board to take one of three actions:


1) concur with the secondary roads plan

2) take no action

3) recommend changes (as long as they did not deal with paving or paving priorities)


Chairman Coffey thanked the NCDOT officials, and Mr. Hoke declared the public hearing closed at 7:37 P.M.


Vice-Chairman Lawrence seconded by Commissioner Hodges, moved to concur with the NCDOT Secondary Roads Improvement Plan for FY 98/99.


VOTE: Aye-5



There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:40 P.M.





James Coffey








Elizabeth H. Link

Clerk to the Board