Click here for the 2018 Watauga Soil & Water Board regular meeting dates.

Watauga Farmland Preservation Advisory Board Recommendation letter to the Town of Boone, click here for more information.

The Watauga County Soil and Water Conservation office is located in Boone at 971 West King Street. Normal business hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, and the office telephone number is 828-264-3850.

The Watauga Soil And Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government charged with planning, executing, and promoting sound conservation practices. Its objectives are secured largely through the voluntary cooperation of landowners.

The District administers the N.C. Agricultural Cost Share program to improve water quality and reduce non-point source pollution on agricultural lands. The Natural Resources Conservation Service and other agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, as well as some state and local agencies provide technical assistance.

The county, with limited state financial support, provides funds and office space. The five member board consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members elected to four-year staggered terms on a non-partisan basis.

Regular District Board meetings are on the fourth Wednesday of each month, at 8:00 am in the District Office at 971 West King Street, but are subject to change.


The Current District Board of Supervisors:

Denny Norris, Chair
190 Norris Trail,   Boone, NC 28607

Joey Clawson
368 Panoramic Lane, Boone, NC 28607

Robert Hunt
P.O. Box 1595, Boone, NC 28607

Todd Combs
1046 Castle Ford, Boone NC 28607

Al Childers, Vice Chair
PO Box 403, Sugar Grove, NC 28679

District Staff

Janie Poe
Administrative Asst./Education Coord.

Isaac Hodges
Conservation Technician

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service

David Tucker
District Conservationist

Christine Vance
Soil Conservationist

Rosie Grajales
Soil Conservationist

Becky Wallace
Program Assistant

ADA Policy