County Board of Elections

The Watauga County Board of Elections will meet Tuesday, February 20, 2024 at 5:00p.m. in the County Courthouse located at 842 West King Street, Boone, NC 28607. This meeting is open to the public.
Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 848 7361 3392
Passcode: 112233

Dial by your location
• +1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

February 20, 2024 



1.              CALL TO ORDER  

2.              PLEDGE 

3.              APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM FEBRUARY 13, 2024 


5.              DIRECTOR’S UPDATE 




9.              ADJOURNMENT 

To view the 2024 Primary Buffer Zone Notice CLICK HERE

The Watauga County Board of Elections unanimously passed a resolution on 1/10/2024 to move the Election Day polling place for registered voters in the Laurel Creek Precinct to the Western Watauga Community Center located at 1081 Old US Hwy 421, Sugar Grove. This is a temporary move until construction at the Cove Creek Fire Department is complete.  

The Watauga County Board of Elections unanimously passed a resolution on 11/17/2023 to move the Election Day polling place for registered voters in the Watauga Precinct to the Foscoe Christian Church located at 8834 NC 105 S, Boone, NC 28607.  




The statewide primary election will be held on Tuesday, March 5, 2024.


Voters will be asked to show photo ID when they vote. Voters who lack ID can get one for free from their county board of elections. If a voter does not have ID when they go to vote, they can still have their vote counted by either signing a form at the polls to explain why they are unable to show ID, or by voting a provisional ballot and returning to the county board of elections with their ID by 5 p.m. on March 14, 2024. Find out more at


Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day.


Early voting will be held at the following locations from Thursday, February 15, 2024, through Saturday, March 2, 2024:

·         County Administration Building, 814 W. King St, Boone

·         American Legion Building, 333 Wallingford St, Blowing Rock

·         Deep Gap Fire Department, 6583 Old 421 S, Deep Gap

·         Meat Camp Fire Department, 4797 NC Hwy 194 N, Boone

·         Plemmons Student Union (ASU), 263 Locust St, Boone (parking at Howard St lot)

·         Western Watauga Community Center, 1081 Old US Hwy 421, Sugar Grove


Weekdays 8am – 7:30pm                   Saturday March 2, 8am – 3pm


Absentee ballots will be mailed to voters who have requested them beginning January 19, 2024. Absentee ballots must be received by the county board of elections no later than 7:30 p.m. on March 5, 2024. A voter can fill out an absentee ballot request at, or by filling out a request form provided by the county board of elections office. The request must be received through the website or by the Watauga County Board of Elections by 5 p.m. February 27, 2024.


In the primary election, voters will select nominees for a political party to move on to the general election on November 5th. Contests on the ballot include U.S. President, U.S. House, N.C. Governor and other Council of State Offices, N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice, N.C. Court of Appeals, N.C. House and Senate, and county offices. In the primary, voters affiliated with a political party will be given a ballot of candidates for their party, if their party has a primary. Unaffiliated voters may choose to vote in any party’s primary, but they may select only one party’s ballot.


The voter registration deadline for this election is 5 p.m. Friday, February 9, 2024. Eligible individuals who are not registered by that deadline may register and vote at any early voting site during the early voting period. New registrants will be required to provide current documentation of their residence (for example, a government ID, other government document, or a paycheck, bank statement, or utility bill). Voters who wish to change party affiliation must do so by the February 9 deadline.


Questions? Call the Watauga County Board of Elections Office at (828)265-8061or send an email to


                                                                        Michael Behrent, Chair

                                                                        Watauga County Board of Elections 

2024 Presidential Preference Primary Early Voting Schedule

Early voting begins February 15 at six locations around Watauga County. Any voter registered in Watauga County can vote at any of the six sites regardless of where they live. Same Day voter registration is also available at all sites. Photo ID is required. Below are the Early Voting sites and schedule. The Board of Elections Early Voting sites will follow the Watauga County Courthouse schedule for inclement weather.

February 15 – 16                              8am – 7:30pm
February 19 - 23                               8am – 7:30pm
February 26 – March 1                   8am – 7:30pm
March 2                                               8am – 3pm

·         Watauga County Administration Building
Commissioners’ Board Room
814 W. King Street, Boone

·         Blowing Rock American Legion Building
333 Wallingford St, Blowing Rock

·         Deep Gap Fire Department
6583 Old 421 S, Deep Gap

·         Meat Camp Fire Department
4797 NC HWY 194 N, Boone

·         Plemmons Student Union (ASU Campus)
Blue Ridge Ballroom
263 Locust Street
(Parking lot at 644 Howard Street)

·         Western Watauga Community Center
1081 Old US HWY 421, Sugar Grove

To view the uniformed and overseas citizens absentee voting notice for the 2024 Presidential Primary CLICK HERE  

Watauga County has new County Commissioner Districts and a new method of election for them. North Carolina Session Law 2023-147 was passed on October 25, 2023. As a result, County Commissioners must live in the district for which they seek office as before, however now voters can only vote for the one Commissioner that represents their district. Previously, all Watauga County voters voted for all Commissioner candidates.

The districts have been realigned to contain roughly the same population in each district. Each candidate is elected to a four-year term. Commissioner Districts 3, 4, and 5 are up for election in 2024. Commissioner District 1 and 2 are up for election in 2026. Candidate filing opens at Noon on December 4th , 2023 and closes at Noon on December 15th.

District 1 is comprised of precincts Boone 1, Boone 2, Boone 3, and part of Brush Fork.

District 2 is comprised of precincts New River 1, New River 3, and part of New River 2.

District 3 is comprised of precincts Beaver Dam, Laurel Creek, Shawneehaw, Watauga, Beech Mountain, and part of Brush Fork.

District 4 is comprised of precincts Bald Mountain, Cove Creek, Meat Camp, North Fork, part of Brushy Fork, and part of New River 2.

District 5 is comprised of precincts Blowing Rock, Blue Ridge, Elk, and Stony Fork.

District Map – Click Here
Map of District 3 - Click here
Map of District 4 - Click here
Map of District 5 - Click here

 The mission of the Watauga County Board of Elections is to provide the highest level of professional standards to ensure accurate, honest, and fair elections through accountability and integrity and to provide all citizens our services in the most efficient, effective, and timely manner.   

Contact Us
Mailing Address:
Watauga County Board of Elections
PO Box 528
Boone, NC 28607
Physical Address:
Watauga County Board of Elections
842 W. King St, Suite 6
Boone, NC 28607
Hours of Operations
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Phone: 828-265-8061
Fax: 828-265-8068
       Board Members 
Michael Behrent - Chair 
Matt Walpole- Secretary 
Leta Councill - Member 
Eric Eller - Member 
Elaine Rothenberg - Member